Combo/Small Ensemble Sessions July 11 – July 25, 2021 – Snowmass/Aspen, CO
Individual/Big Band Sessions July 25 – Aug. 7, 2021 – Aspen, CO
Applications are no longer being accepted. Participant announcements will be made in April.

Learn more about the Academy here

JAS & Frost School of Music at the University of Miami have expanded the JAS Academy in 2021 to include the new “Combo/Small Ensemble Sessions.” This two-week intensive workshop will be followed by the highly-acclaimed existing “Individual/Big Band Sessions,” led by JAS Academy Artistic Director Christian McBride. McBride will work in tandem with Frost Dean Shelly Berg and Program Director Chuck Bergeron, who will work on both sessions.

The goal of the JAS Academy is to identify and assist the most talented artists embracing jazz fundamentally while exploring myriad related & unrelated forms of music at the highest level of quality.

The Academy is full-scholarship, with all travel, lodging, tuition and meals provided. The JAS Academy is supported annually by a multi-year gift from Sasha & Ed Bass. 

Combo/Small Ensemble Sessions
Seeking group applicants from existing ensembles with unique repertoire and/or arrangements. Additionally, groups interested in exploring a new or specific artistic vision are encouraged to audition for the Academy. Find more information here. Deadline for applications March 1. 2021.

Individual/Big Band Sessions
Seeking individual applicants able to perform proficiently in both combo and big band settings. Strong reading skills, experience with improvisation, doubling, and familiarity with multiple styles of jazz music are prerequisites. Find more information here. Deadline for applications March 1, 2021.

Daily program activities for both sessions will include a blend of coaching from JAS Academy jazz masters and faculty members along with individual group time for rehearsal and recording. Select Frost School of Music Curricula will be introduced, addressing tops essential to developing well-rounded musicians with the tools to succeed in the 21st century music industry. Class in recording techniques, arranging, production, touring, agent representation, artist management, contracts, website development, and digital rights will be included. 

Get to know the 2020 JAS Academy Students below:

Andrew Torgelson
Benjamin Turner
Charlie Barber
Dave Mosko
Emma Hedrick
Gregory Niemi
Jonathan Bumpus
Janelle Finton
Jason Arkins
Kenton Luck
Leo Folsom
Michael Clement
Michael Ramos
Nicholas Roels
Omeed Nyman
Patrick Hill
Skyler Floe
Stephen Parisi Jr.
William Nathman